Tuesday, January 3, 2012

Gloria Arroyo, 3 others barred from travel on graft charges

The Sandiganbayan 4th Division has issued a hold departure order (HDO) against former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, her husband Jose Miguel,  and two former officials of her administration in connection with  graft charges filed against them.  Former Transportation Secretary Leandro Mendoza, and former Commission on Elections chairman Benjamin Abalos were also nemed in the HDO, GMA News TV's "Balitanghali" reported Tuesday. 

In a phone interview on Tuesday, Sandiganbayan Fourth Division executive clerk of court Atty. Joffre Gil Zapata told GMA News Online the one-page HDO was issued Monday afternoon by  Associate Justices Gregory Ong, Jose Hernandez, and Maria Cristina Cornejo.   Mrs. Arroyo, now a congresswoman, is facing two counts of violating Republic Act 3019 or the  Anti-Graft and Corrupt Practices Act and one count of violating RA 6713 or the Code of Conduct and Ethical Standards for Public Officials and Employees before the Sandiganbayan in connection with the botched $329-million national broadband network (NBN) deal with the Chinese firm ZTE Corp.   She is currently under hospital arrest at the Veterans Memorial Medical Center in connection with electoral sabotage case filed against her by the Commission on Elections on Dec. 7. Mr. Arroyo, Mendoza, and Abalos are also facing one count each of violating RA 3019 in connection with the NBN deal.

No comments:

Post a Comment